TESDA Bookkeeping Seminar by AICB

28 Oct

TESDA is one of the government websites I usually visit whenever I am online. I just love checking updates and am interested reading on the various scholarships, assessment and competency exams posted on the site. I happened to read there is a certain Bookkeeping Competency Exam, needless to say, it aroused my interest. The examinee will get a certification of Certified Bookkeeper if he/she passes the exam. And you don’t need to be an Accountancy graduate to qualify the exam, so long as you have a background of it acquired through experience or a short seminar, then they’ll give you a glowing green signal to take the exam.

It has been a few months when I started googling about this exam but I could not find any schedule here in Manila. I wanted to take the Bookkeeping NC III [level 3]. I tried calling TESDA’s hotline number but duhh, busy, no one is answering or you’ll get a useless voice mail recording. During my search, I encountered websites offering bookkeeping short course, seminar, etc. Since my last Acocunting was 4 years ago, I thought it’s a better idea to refresh my basic accounting. So I decided to attend one of the cheapest seminars conducted by any bookeeping/accounting organization.

I found this ad posted by AICB [Asian Institute of Certified Bookkeepers, Inc] in Sulit.com that they’ll conduct a 2 day seminar this October. The registration fee was P3,500. I emailed them and got a prompt reply. The schedule of the event was on Oct 21 and 22, and thank God my RD at work was changed from SAT SUN to FRI SAT. So I don’t need to go on VL on Friday. I tried to apply for a half day VL on the 21st, Thursday so that I won’t miss anything on the seminar but unfortunately and expectedly, it wasn’t approved. So…when the AICB lady called me, I told them I would get to the venue by 1pm. I also asked if we’ll be able to take the exam after the seminar. She replied in positive.

The venue was held in Max’s Restaurant, Glorrietta 3, Makati. When I got there around 12.30pm, the accommodating lady recognized me and signalled another assistant to prepare my lunch. I paid my fee. She gave me the materials and went inside the air-conditioned room. I sat on Table 1 which was already occupied by 5 other participants – 4 ladies and a gentleman [who happens to be the first cousin of Rica Peralejo].

I scanned the materials and smiled :) I said to myself: WOW I knew and mastered this when I was still First Year 4 years ago…But because of 2 years absence in school I kindda need a refresher.

Our resource person was Fe Violeta G. Baluran. From the way she spoke, and the experiences she shared I could say that she is an intelligent and brilliant woman. She is a CPA, MBA and is currently taking up her DBA. She teaches Accounting in La Zalle University and Assumption College.

I learned a lot from her and enjoyed her anecdotes squeezed in during the lecture. 100% my brain was refreshed!! We did some seatworks like Journalizing, Posting to Ledgers and of course doing the worksheet. It was FUN! I found myself nostalgics of those days when I and my classmates did the same thing under the class of a cute and smart professor.

My seatmates were also very cool and friendly.. We only bonded for 2 days but I really like them because they came from different industries and I got to learn stuffs they’re experts at.

The organizer advised that we’ll get a call from them to finalize the schedule of exam. I am waiting for that day..and hoping all of us will pass!

Last Saturday, I went to a bookstore and bought some journals, ledgers and worksheets. Hahah I need to practice and answer some excercises on my basic accounting book”)

 

 

 

 

11 Responses to “TESDA Bookkeeping Seminar by AICB”

  1. James October 29, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    Hi

    Thank you for your post.

    How many people were at the seminar? Do you know how many the AICB do in a year?

    Thanks
    J

  2. preciouswest1025 October 31, 2010 at 1:50 am #

    Hi..Thank your for inquiry. I think we were around 25 or 28. Most of the participants are already working. I don’t know often they do it annually. I believe they’ll have the last batch for this year in December. And we are the 5th batch…

    • danel November 20, 2011 at 8:49 am #

      please send it to me the solution manual for financial accounting 2008 please

      my e mail **********
      godspeed

  3. janette corona December 11, 2011 at 5:57 am #

    Hi. I really wanted to attend that seminar regarding on book keeping and i wanted to take the assessment of TESDA. I need to be refreshed before taking the assessment examination. Can you give me please some details and contact person and contact# or email address whom I can transact regarding this. Or email me at janet_corona@yahoo.com

    Thank you so much for ur help.

  4. Maria Luth G. Mejia January 24, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    May i ask when will be the next exam? thanks

  5. Domingos Soares Babo September 4, 2012 at 12:00 am #

    thank… you for the information and message to me and have a nice day and see u in the pilippin.for the scholarship…

  6. karren January 4, 2013 at 5:56 pm #

    Hi. I am a passer of Bookkeeping NC III, and it cost me only P350.00 for the exam fee and P50.00 for the certificate.

    • water_tramp March 14, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

      hi Karren. May I ask where you took your Bookkeeping NC III? I’ve been trying to look for options on where I can take it, but so far I know of only one and it’s quite expensive.

    • Anabel D. Naanep November 18, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      hi are you also giving NC111 Bookeeping?

  7. Maricon Ravoy July 16, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    m.lenaming@yahoo.com

  8. Maricon Ravoy July 16, 2013 at 4:39 am #

    Pls. let me know what are the things needed to bring during the exam like calculator, pen, etc.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers

